Ellensburg Film Festival Awards Announced


OCTOBER 2, 2009

ELLENSBURG, Wash.- The Fifth Annual Ellensburg Film Festival held their Opening Gala and Award Ceremony this evening at the EFF Headquarters in Gallery One. The ceremony kicked off with a live performance by the Indie-pop-funk band Argus, who is a local band from Yakima, Washington. Following the band’s forty-five minute set, the Ellensburg Film Festival’s president, Pedro Bicchieri, took the stage and presented this year’s top awards for: Best of Washington to Back to the Garden, Best Short to Fan Mail, Best Documentary to Sweet Crude, Best Feature to World’s Greatest Dad and the EFF’s Best of Fest went to Pirate for the Sea. This year the Ellensburg Film Festival teamed up with IndieFlix to incorporate an online, audience driven film competition called Indie-Fest. Unseen Abilities was the recipient of the Indie-Fest award and will receive a 90-10 distribution deal with IndieFlix. Padro Bicchieri, one of the founding fathers of the festival, announced the passing of the torch to Sarah Haven who was this year’s vice-president. After a short acceptance speech, Haven announced that Inti Valverde will step into the role of vice-president for next year. Star Anna and The Laughing Dogs continued to carry the party atmosphere on into the early morning hours.

The ceremony was attended by many of the filmmakers and musicians. For example, Director Sean Christensen, Fan Mail, was on hand to accept the award for Best Short. Also, Director Ronald Colby, Pirate for the Sea, accepted the award for EFF’s Best of Fest. Also in attendance this evening, Director Kevin Tomlinson and producer Judy Kaplan of Back to the Garden. Musician Jon Davidson took part in the celebrations as well. When asked his perspective on the Festival’s Opening Gala he stated, “The award ceremony really kicked things off in style. Armani amidst a world of Jordache”.

The Festival’s desire to see an expansion in attendance to last year’s record has a promising outlook. Tonight the premiere screening of the short Endless Tunnel and the feature Sin Nombre started the festival off on the right foot with a packed house. Saturday, October 3, 2009, the EFF will host an entire day of screenings starting with the short Reap What You Sew and the feature Turning A Corner at the Central Washington University Student Union and Recreation Center (SURC) Theatre at 10:30am. Premiere Passes are available for $50.00; this package includes priority seating at every film, as well as admission to all other events throughout the weekend plus an EFF t-shirt. There is a special Six-Tix Deal which provides admission for six choice films for $30.00. Regular admission is $6.00 and there is a special discount for students for $3.00 with student ID.

For more information on ticket sales, screening times and locations or other EFF events please visit http://www.ellensburgfilmfestival.com. If you would like up to the minute updates you can follow the Ellensburg Film Festival on: Facebook, Myspace, Twitter (EburgFilmFest), and WordPress.

This event is sponsored by: Laughing Horse Arts Foundation, Gallery One Visual Arts Center, IndieFlix, TLS Design Studio, Ellensburg Arts Commission, Withoutabox, Central Washington University Diversity Education Center, Iron Horse Brewery, Sage Cliffe, Rufus Tech, Jerrol’s Book & Supply Co., D&M Coffee, Lily’s Cantina, Bluestone Academy, and Wahluke heights Orchards.

Media Contact: Tami Sawyer, EFF Public Relations & Marketing, press@ellensburgfilmfestival.com



One thought on “Ellensburg Film Festival Awards Announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s